Hyperbole and Adynata (bootstrapping)

Hyperbole (an extreme exaggeration used to make a point)

-this bag weighs a ton!

-I’m so hungry I could eat a horse!

Adynata (an extreme of hyperbole into impossibilia)

-I will do that when hell freezes over

-yes, he will come and pigs will fly

Interestingly, the term bootstrapping is derived from an adynaton: you can pull me over the fence by my bootstraps.

It seems fitting that a term used to describe a startup practice should be derived from hyperbole into impossibilia.

 

Leave a Reply

