Fomenting  Revolution 

“The worst slave owners were those that were kind to their slaves, and so prevented the core of the system being realised by those who suffered from it …” Oscar Wilde 

The only way to foster change is to allow the system to play itself out? That certainly resonates with me. 

But it has been revealed to me that there is a scale of how people approach global issues. 

1. Passionate crusader

2 uncaring cynicism, or to the extreme fomenting revolution by allowing suffering to reach its logical conclusion*

*i stole this from an article I just read (http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/poverty-matters/2011/apr/22/slavoj-zizek-animated-ideas-about-charity)

Being logical I think I considered the two extremes and then settled into an energy minimum close to uncaring cynicism. I can’t see what a crusader actually can do. And when I get close and think about the hopelessness of my efforts I actually get very disillusioned. Uncaring cynicism protects me from the pain. 

A problem is now I have learned this I’m not sure what to do next. What I mean is, where’s the balance. 

  

Leave a Reply

