Non-romantic compersion

Where jealousy is a fear it can extend outside of sex. For example, my mate might be jealous if I started an art class (non-sexually) or jealous if I took a trip with the girls to Bali (non-sexually).

The jealousy would come in the form of a fear of loss. A fear at not being able to control the circumstances or know what’s happening or where I am (at all times).

On the flip side, compersion must extend outside of sex. For example, my mate might be thrilled if I started an art class or if I took a trip with the girls.

In which case, I wonder if this is compersion… or just emotional maturity. The acceptance of another adult.

For the feeling to extend into something called compersion seems like it becomes some sort of joy at my being able to fulfil myself. Why for is that required? And then the feeling starts to me to seem suspicious, because to label it as “compersion” makes it seem almost as if there is some bonus in it for the other person. Like the face on that mum that watches her kid playing the violin and she’s just a little bit tooooo proud.

I smell a rat.

****
As a post-script since its slightly related: It seems to me that the relationship between jealousy/envy requires a word on the other side: compersion/non-envy

  

One thought on “Non-romantic compersion

Leave a Reply

