The case of the missing Brownie

At Max Brenner today I witnessed Gen Y chaos. Long lines, frustrated patrons and wrong orders. This despite there being a seemingly huge number of wait-staff in front of and behind the counter.

As I observed it one thing struck me – despite the queues and grumbling not one of them employees seemed stressed or embarrassed.

For decades, shame has motivated the masses. I would have worked doubly hard and switched my brain right “on” in order to avoid having to deal with grumpy dissatisfied clientele. In the absence of shame, there appears no personal incentive to perform.

So what’s the solution?

I asked my kids (aged 5) if they have any idea what would get the staff jiggling. Their idea was chocolate rewards and TV time. I laughed, but shit, they could be right.

2015/01/img_7252.jpg

Leave a Reply

