The odd one out

Standing looking into a tent of Christian worshippers Rust and Marty observe the revellers.

Rust Cohle: “What do you think the average IQ of this group is, huh?”
Marty Hart: “Can you see Texas up there on your high horse? What do you know about these people?”
Rust Cohle: “Just observation and deduction. I see a propensity for obesity, poverty, a yen for fairy tales, folks putting what few bucks they do have into little, wicker baskets being passed around. I think it’s safe to say that nobody here is gonna be splitting the atom, Marty.”

In the Deep South, Rust is clearly different and no one wants to hear his (apparently) dark realistic views. I agree with everything he says which makes me wonder: am I really different from everyone else so obviously?

In a tent full of one hundred people am I one of the only ones that would agree with Rust?

Growing up, I was just like everyone else – all the teenage girls anyway. Anything different about me was hidden by the similarities of my immature mind.

Now I am older, I am starting to think I am very different to other people. But I have no history of being different. So it is a constant surprise to me and I make wrong assumptions that I am the societal norm.

This can cause problems, because I think I am in the middle of the bell curve when I am perhaps at the outer trailing edge I am not yet careful enough to blend in. I am figuring it out then.

I didn’t get any of that queer wisdom people get from growing up knowing they are different. It’s coming now later.

My current proposed mistaken thinking is that everyone else is going to be like me eventually. I am thinking about this. It’s probably wrong.

2015/01/img_6927.jpg

Leave a Reply

