False profits

At the fairground, my son had to throw a dart to burst one of the balloons on the wall. If he could burst one he got a prize.

First dart, and he pops a big balloon on the top row. A champion the stall owner cried!

I felt very proud. And smug. My child is clearly gifted … at darts (?)

Afterwards, in the distance I heard the same cry following a loud pop: “a champion!” And I realised all the kids were champions. Of course they are.

And I noted my pride and wondered what the fuck was that for? Some kind of weird transference is my guess.

I need this to be exorcised as soon as possible. A new project.

(That’s me hot and bothered (and gone slightly crazy) at the fair)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/043/59785908/files/2014/12/img_6688.jpg

Leave a Reply

