Scary

The scariest thing I can think of (aside from anything happening to my family) is to be cave-diving and my torch runs out and I am lost.

Dark, disorientated, alone, underwater, confined.

The last time I was genuinely scared was about 18 months ago whilst staying on a farm in the middle of nowhere. An animal must have hit the electric fence and the noise was awful. We were both terrified and checked the doors, made sure they were locked and then went back into bed. The fear was contagious. I recall feeling a fear that was unusual and intense, just before my mind said: shut up will you, I’m knackered and I really want to go to sleep. I was snoring after that.

Even in fear my body doesn’t really get a fair say.

IMG_5604.JPG

Leave a Reply

