Mouth Guard

Bloke on the train puts his paper down and waits for me to look up from my phone
Good day? he asks
Yeah, I said, busy, went quick.
How about you? I ask in return
Yeah, not bad
Silence
Who got married? I ask pointing at his paper (marvelling at the fact I am now responsible for keeping up the conversation)
Oh George Clooney he says – wanna look …?
No not really
Silence
Awkward
Oh this is my stop, have a good day I chirp
Yeah thanks, he says
I have heard about this
The art of conversation!
It must be his new resolution to chat to people on the train
Someone probably suggested it to him at a dinner party at the weekend following his lamenting about all the screen zombies
Hilarious
He needs practice
Me back to walking and zombie typing

IMG_5150.JPG

Leave a Reply

